Interested in financial products


Karnataka Bank is a leading scheduled commercial bank in India. The bank was started on February 18th, 1924 in the city of Mangalore, in Karnataka State. The Bank has over the years grown with the help of mergers with Sringeri Sharada Bank Ltd., Chitradurga Bank Ltd. and Bank of Karnataka.

With nearly 9 decades of banking experience, Karnataka bank today is at the forefront of offering professional banking services to Indian customers. The bank boasts of a national presence with close to 859 branches set up across 22 states in the country. It is managed by a professional management team and employs 8,220 staff. With nearly 1,46,000 shareholders and more than 10.21 million customers, the bank has emerged as one of the top players in the banking sector today.

Bank transfer knowledge is critical when it comes to money management. A lot of times, when you want to use an electronic payment system for money transfer, you would have come across the term IFSC Code. In all probability, you would have reached out to your respective bank branch and requested for it. Once the bank provides the code, it becomes easy to carry out and complete the transaction.

If you look closely, this code is available in your bank statement and also your cheque book or passbook. In this article, we will explain everything you need to know about the IFSC Code and how to locate it easily in the account-related documents you have from the bank.

Basics of IFSC Code

IFSC stands for Indian Financial System Code. This eleven-digit alphanumeric code is provided by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) to all banks who are regular participants in the online transfer system of the banking network. In this code, the first four alphabets refer to the name of the bank. The code has 0 right in the middle and the next set of numbers refer to the branch code.

IFSC code is essential in online transfer systems such as Real Time Gross Settlement (RTGS), National Electronic Fund Transfer (NEFT) and Centralised Funds Management System (CFMS). Without IFSC code, it is impossible to carry out either of these transactions.

Where to find the IFSC code of Karnataka Bank?

Normally, you can find the IFSC Code in any of your bank statements. It can also be found printed on your bank cheque book.

If you are looking for ways to find IFSC code online, follow the below-mentioned steps:

Step 1: On a website that lists IFSC codes like the CreditMantri site, select the bank name from the dropdown or list.

Step 2: Choose the state where your bank branch is located

Step 3: Choose the district as applicable

Step 4: Choose the respective bank branch from the list or dropdown

Step 5: You will be able to see the IFSC code, MICR code, contact details and address of your bank branch after following the above steps.

IFSC Format of Karnataka Bank

Karnataka Bank IFSC is made up of 11-digit alphanumeric combination which is unique to every bank and its branches. The first four characters refer to the bank name and the remaining six characters refer to the specific branch. The fifth character is set at zero for future use. Every branch code is available on the cheque leaflets provided to the account holders.

KARB0000261 is an example of IFSC Code for Karnataka Banks Sector-14, Gurgaon branch.

The bank code is ‘KARB’ and this is followed by ‘0’. The remaining characters ‘000261’ refer to the bank branch which, in this case, is Sector-14, Gurugram.

IFSC Code is primarily used during fund transfer processes such as NEFT, RTGS, and IMPS. Each of Karnataka Banks branches has a unique IFSC code. These codes are required for NEFT (National Electronic Funds Transfer) and RTGS (Real Time Gross Settlement).

Whether it is to send money or transfer funds through any fund transfer mechanisms (i.e NEFT, RTGS etc) you must enter the recipient’s bank account number and also mention IFSC code of the receiving branch to complete the transaction.

Uses of IFSC Code in NEFT

  • For carrying out bank transfers via NEFT, a bank branch must be NEFT-enabled. You can go through RBI’s (Reserve Bank of India) website to verify the same.
  • It is important to complete the registration process for net banking access. Also, your mobile number must be registered with the bank for completing net banking registration formality.
  • You must add the beneficiary under your account for initiating money transfer. For this, you must have the beneficiary’s name, his account number and the IFSC (Indian Financial System Code) of the receiving bank branch. IFSC code can be found on either the bank statement or on a cheque leaflet.
  • After successfully adding the beneficiary, you may have some waiting time before you can initiate fund transfer to the beneficiary. For example, SBI has a waiting time of approximate 4 hours. This could differ across banks.
  • In your net banking account, use the option ‘Transfer Funds’. Select the beneficiary name to whom you want to transfer funds and make the transfer by using OTP (One Time Password) sent on registered mobile number.
  • The stated amount is transferred to the beneficiary as per the bank’s settlement period.

Uses of IFSC Code in RTGS

  • RTGS transfer is primarily for high-value transactions. It requires a minimum amount of Rs 2 lakhs per transaction. RTGS does not have any cap on the maximum amount that can be transferred. Since this transfer happens on a real-time basis, the recipient to whom the amount is transferred will receive it in approximately 30 minutes.
  • The RTGS facility is available from 9 am to 4:30 pm from Monday to Friday and 9 am to 2 pm on Saturdays.
  • RTGS service in almost the same way as NEFT. You only need to ensure that yours and the beneficiary’s bank accounts have RTGS facility attached and the IFSC code of the receiving bank branch is handy.
  • RTGS may be expensive as compared to NEFT. A transfer of Rs 2- Rs 5 lakhs in RTGS may cost Rs. 30 and any transactions above Rs. 5 lakhs are charged Rs 55.


1. What is the use of IFSC code?

IFSC or Indian Financial System Code is required for identifying each of the bank branches across India. This is especially required to identify bank branches which are participants in the National Electronic Funds Transfer (NEFT) network. IFSC code is a unique 11 digit code provided to all bank branches by RBI.

2. What is the eligibility criteria for opening a Karnataka Bank savings account?

Eligibility criteria for opening a savings account with Karnataka Bank is:

  • Indian citizens above 18 years are eligible
  • Applicant must have a valid proof of identity as recognised and approved by the Indian Government

3. What information is required for funds transfer via Karnataka Bank?

Here is the set of information required for funds transfer through Karnataka Bank:

  • Amount to be transferred
  • Bank Account number of sender and receiver
  • Receivers complete name, bank and branch name & account number
  • Receivers IFSC code for the specific bank branch

4. How can I transfer funds online from one bank to another?

You can transfer funds online from one bank to another by using National Electronic Fund Transfer (NEFT), Real-time Gross Settlement (RTGS), Immediate Payment Service (IMPS), or Unified Payment Interface (UPI). It is important to have an IFSC code of the receiving bank branch for using either of the three modes.

5. Where do I find all the IFSC codes for Karnataka bank branches?

You can find the IFSC codes for Karnataka Bank branches on cheque leaflets provided by the branch or on the bank passbook. You can also look up the same on CreditMantri website.

×Thank you! Your comment will be reviewed and posted shortly.