Interested in financial products


HRIDAY Plan stands for the National Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana. It is an initiative launched by the central government which focussing on urban planning, economic growth as well as preservation of the heritage of selected cities under this plan. The scheme was launched on 21st of January 2015 and the mission period for the scheme has ended on the 31st of March 2019.

The scheme aims at developing and maintaining the heritage cities in terms of their aesthetic appeal, making them easily accessible, making them informative and providing a secured environment in these cities.

The scheme has been implemented by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs. The scheme is implemented on the basis of quantifiable goals. The implementation of the scheme is done on the lines of the similar Smart City Scheme.

Objectives of HRIDAYA Yojana

This scheme was initiated, as mentioned above, with the focus on heritage sites i.e. to make them more accessible, more urban at the same time maintaining the very spirit of the place. The government is also open to including private sector participation to achieve its objectives.

The various objectives of the scheme that form the core ideology or the very basis of this scheme are mentioned below.

  • To plan, develop and to implement the construction of heritage specific and sensitive infrastructure
  • The above objective includes the service delivery and developing the infrastructure in mainly the core areas of historic cities
  • The scheme aims to preserve and rejuvenate the heritage city so as to provide a direct connection between the tourists and the unique character of the city.
  • The scheme also aims to develop as well as document the inventory of the heritage assets of the city which will record not only the cultural heritage but also the built, the living heritage and the natural heritage of the city. This will form the basis of the urban planning, its growth and development and the eventual planning of the services and their delivery.
  • Another aspect of the scheme is to enhance the basic services in the city with a focus on the sanitation of the public restrooms, water taps, providing latest technologies for security like street lights and improving the tourist facilities
  • To enhance the local capacity for an industry that is heritage based.
  • To create an effective link between the tourism and the cultural facilities of the city
  • To conserve heritage in the selected cities
  • Use of adaptive maintenance and rehabilitating the urban heritage with the use of suitable technology
  • To provide a correct retrofit to the historic buildings with modern amenities
  • The scheme also includes the creation of a public-private partnership that is aimed at the preservation and maintenance of historic buildings
  • To promote the economic activities that will enable the enhancement of employment opportunities among the locals. The scheme also focuses on skill development among the locals that will ensure that the public spaces and cultural spaces are accessible to all.
  • To make use of the right technology and modern devices to provide better security in the city
  • To increase the access to the heritage sites, develop roads, provide intellectual access by GIS mapping of the historic locations, to build a digital record of the heritage, etc.

List of Cities under HRIDAY Plan

The Scheme has specifically listed out 12 cities that form part of this scheme where the Government will carry out detailed and systematic efforts to meet its objectives under HRIDAY Scheme.

Following are the cities that are covered under the HRIDAY Scheme.

  • Ajmer
  • Amritsar
  • Amaravati
  • Badami
  • Dwarka
  • Gaya
  • Kanchipuram
  • Mathura
  • Puri
  • Varanasi
  • Velankanni
  • Warangal

Indicative Components of the Scheme

HRIDAY Scheme is broadly based on the following four components to renew and rejuvenate the spirit of the heritage cities

  • Physical Infrastructure
  • Institutional Infrastructure
  • Economic Infrastructure
  • Social Infrastructure

Funding of the Projects

HRIDAY Plan is a fully funded project by the Central Government. The funds that are sanctioned by the government are released to the executing agencies by the MoUD. The distribution of the funds sanctioned is detailed below.

ComponentsFunds Allotted

HRIDAY Pilot Cities Project Implementation


NPMU/ City PMU Establishment and Operationalization at MoUD City


Capacity Development for Heritage Cities


DPRs and Development/Management Plans






The stages of releasing the funds by MoUD is mentioned below

  • First installment of 20% on the approval of the project
  • Second installment of 60% on 20% physical and financial progress of the project
  • Third installment of 20% on 60% physical and financial progress of the project

Expected Outcomes of the HRIDAY Scheme

The HRIDAY Scheme has been formed with very clear ideas of outcomes. Some of these are mentioned below.

  • To provide clean as well as sanitized environment with enhanced sanitization standards that also include the safety and convenience to the citizens and the tourists
  • To provide improved urban infrastructure with at least basic facilities at existing as well as new tourist attractions
  • To conserve and rejuvenate the heritage sites and the monuments
  • To have increased participation of the locals in boosting the tourism and the employment opportunities thereof
  • To boost or promote tourism by providing excellence in the services offered which will result in increased inflow of tourists with extended stay
  • To provide social safety and reduce the crime in the tourist sites.
  • To achieve overall improvement in the local economy and the general standard of living of the locals


1. What is the HRIDAY Plan?

HRIDAY is the Scheme launched by the Central Government to revamp the select heritage sites of the country with urban infrastructure and modern standards of amenities and security to boost tourism and local employment.

2. How many cities are selected under HRIDAY Plan?

The Government has selected 12 cities under the HRIDAY Plan.

3. Is the HRIDAY Plan a joint scheme between centre and state?

No. The HRIDAY Plan is a wholly centre funded scheme.

4. What are the cities under the HRIDAY Plan?

The cities mentioned under the HRIDAY Plan are mentioned below.

  • Ajmer
  • Amritsar
  • Amaravati
  • Badami
  • Dwarka
  • Gaya
  • Kanchipuram
  • Mathura
  • Puri
  • Varanasi
  • Velankanni
  • Warangal

4. What is the duration of the HRIDAY Plan?

The scheme was envisioned for a period of 4 years and has ended as of 31st March 2019.

×Thank you! Your comment will be reviewed and posted shortly.